fbpx
Do you need customer support or technical assistance? Click here to submit a support ticket...

TOPIC: Military PMP Transferable Skills

Military PMP Transferable Skills 4 months 2 weeks ago #31482

• Joseph Flanders
  • Joseph Flanders's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello,

Is there anywhere to find which skills from the military I am able to transfer to my application towards the PMP Exam?

I have heard that most people in the military inherently have PM skills, they just need to figure out how to transfer from what they have been doing in their job. I only know one person I work with who has the PMP, but they are a different career field and the tasks they put down are different than mine. I was trying to find something a little more specific to what I have done or someone who would be able to help me figure out what transfers.

I work as an aircraft mechanic. I am trying to work on my PMP application since I have heard it's best to go ahead and schedule it 2-3 months out.
Last edit: by Joseph Flanders.

Military PMP Transferable Skills 4 months 2 weeks ago #31483

• Elena Zelenevskaia
  • Thank you received: 5
Hi Joseph,
Think about your work as an aircraft mechanic in terms of process groups: Initiating, Planning, Executing, Monitoring and Controlling, and Closing.
Did you ever participate in planning maintenance schedules or deciding when and how to undertake major repairs or upgrades? Did you create or contribute to maintenance plans, allocate resources, or plan for contingencies? and so on... This approach could help you describe your work in terms of project management activities.
Also, check the information on PMI website: www.pmi.org/military/#:~:text=PMI%20cate...ement%20(CAPM)%C2%AE .
Elena Zelenevskaia, PMP
Community Moderator

Military PMP Transferable Skills 4 months 2 weeks ago #31484

• Joseph Flanders
  • Joseph Flanders's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder